$15 Off First Month For new customers on all memberships


Understanding the 7 Chakras for Greater Well-Being

Sunday, September 18th 2022 10:00am 3 min read
Dr. Jessica Peatross dr.jess.md @drjessmd

Hospitalist & top functional MD who gets to the root cause. Stealth infection & environmental toxicity keynote speaker.

If you practice yoga, you most likely have heard the term “chakra.” Translated from Sanskrit, chakra means “to wheel.” Each of the 7 chakras represents a center of energy in different parts of your body. Each chakra represents a different element of your body, with varying qualities that impact your emotions and personality.

The 7 chakras begin at the top of your head and extend down to the base of your tailbone. Each has a different color and ancient element, like fire, air, or earth. And, each has physical and psychological characteristics. According to yogic philosophy, your chakras can be imbalanced. You can be excessive or deficient in one or more chakra, and the imbalances manifest themselves in different ways.

However, when your chakras are balanced, you will live a healthier, happier life. This is an ancient philosophy rather than modern science. Still, practicing this method can lead to a more mindful life and greater overall well-being. Let’s take a look at the 7 chakras.

The 7 chakras and how to balance them

1. Crown chakra

Element: Cosmic Energy/Divine Consciousness
Color: Purple

This chakra, sahasrara, is located at the top of the head. It enables us to connect to all things—in particular, to a realm … not really in the physical world, but in a cosmic realm. Essentially, the crown chakra is what allows you to connect to your spirituality, to something deeper than just yourself.

Members Only Content

To continue reading please subscribe to WellnessPlus by Dr. Jess MD

Be your own best doctor with our comprehensive suite of online health coaching tools.

Copyright 2023 WellnessPlus by Dr. Jess MD. All rights reserved

$15 Off First Month

For new customers on all memberships